PDA

View Full Version : uk2.net - powerraq.com



capitalh
Jan 19th, 2002, 11:30 AM
Does anyone have some experience with this company:

http://powerraq.com/

And can anyone notice a catch in the deal?
Its suspiciously cheap.

bit of a newbie at this hosting malarkey, any help much appreciated.

TomWalker
Jan 19th, 2002, 11:44 AM
Hey!
uk2.net are a complete rip-off if you ask me!
they have loads of hidden fees!
if you are looking for something that cheap i suggest http://www.getdotted.com it comes with FREE hosting!

capitalh
Jan 19th, 2002, 12:32 PM
I'm talking about the cobalt dedicated server deal.
any hidden fees with that?

capitalh
Jan 19th, 2002, 12:45 PM
"Default bandwidth is limited to 250GB per year. A charging policy
will be available online on our website and we reserve the right
to change the policy at any time."

can't find the charging policy.

is that because they don't want you to see it > ?

TomWalker
Jan 19th, 2002, 01:24 PM
hey,
i sent them an e-mail and they gave me the lowdown, so i suggest you do that.
unlucky for you they have just closed the support and u wont get a reply untill Monday probably!

thecoolh
Jan 19th, 2002, 04:13 PM
http://powerraq.com/cobaltsignup.htm

i dunno... i find that VERY confusing... ?

£11.99... does that referer to price per month? or what??? because right under it says £623 / year... which would come out to £52/month... which is like $70USD? for like 20GB/month... heh... on a 3 year contract... or like $100USD/month on a 1 year contract... ?

not a very good deal if you ask me... cuz in addition to all this, its hosted in the UK... hmm

? the only reason i'm reacting so harshly to this is only because i know how webhosts think... and how far they'd go just to get some attention to their hosting... (i used to be sooo sleazy myself, but then i grew up, lol)... that capitalh *might* just work for powerraq and be planting this post to get some extra attention for the company... i'd think powerraq would be sleazy like this because their own site, pricing is soooo damn confusing...

also... "You are buying a very low priced service. We reserve the right to charge you for legal costs and time spent dealing with complaints we receive for your activities while using the server."... off of their site... what does that mean? they get a spam complaint, they'll bill you $1000 for it? even tho most hosts (including myself simply disable the site(s) and throw away the complaint email (well, sort it into the complaints dir), taking a total of 10 seconds (if that)...

TomWalker
Jan 19th, 2002, 04:24 PM
Thats uk2 for ya!

capitalh
Jan 19th, 2002, 05:01 PM
crikey.

I haven't got anything to do with powerraq. check out my site if you don't believe me
http://www.capitalh.net

simple fact is that I am finding people I work for are having all sorts of problems with hosts. I figured if I could get my own server then I could solve a lot of people's problems and make some dosh in the process.

UK isn't a problem.

what was the email address for them? can't find it anywhere on the site.

ta muchly

capitalh
Jan 19th, 2002, 05:59 PM
spotted this on the uk2.net website:

http://uk2.net/doit.gif

spooky.

I almost signed up.

H

queensoul
Jan 23rd, 2002, 05:03 AM
Actually have a friend who signed up for it. He is happy ..but then again he lives in the UK. Am a total newbie :) and dont know the disadvantages of getting a cobalt based in the UK...
*shrugs* ....willing to be educated on that ... :)

thecoolh
Jan 24th, 2002, 02:50 AM
could you ask your friend to explain the billing some? hehe... its sooo confusing... hehe

dibby
Feb 23rd, 2002, 12:48 AM
I do live in the UK, but I've not had the pleasure of the company.

However I've watched them for some time and there have certainly been some weird goings on.

The price does seem to good to be true doesnt it? Althought the setup fee as i recall seemed far more realistic.

I'd think long and hard before you plunge the non-refundable setup fee.

Pornstar
May 9th, 2002, 04:13 PM
Well Thats one way to put it...

wowewo
May 9th, 2002, 05:39 PM
If it's confusing now it probably will only get more confusing unless you begin to understand their logic.

Goal
Jul 28th, 2002, 11:54 AM
Careful with UK2 - a lot of their dedicated server offers tie you into a 2 year contract, just be aware.

Andy

noway
Aug 14th, 2002, 10:20 PM
You get what you pay for in hosting. If it sounds too good to be true it always is.

Gary Orman
Aug 26th, 2002, 04:03 AM
I've had dealings with UK2 before, when they sold one of my clients a virtually "free" domain name. When I tried to have it transferred to my server, they charged an admin fee of £30 and to change the ownership details a further £90. This was buried somewhere in the terms & conditions, which could only be viewed at the time of purchase - it wasn't available for view anywhere else on the web-site at any time!

If you buy anything from UK2, beware: you may be giving them a blank cheque.

First of all, the dedicated server does NOT cost £12/month, it costs £12/week. You can find this out by clicking on the comparison button with other competitors. The actual charge is £52/month. Highly misleading. Downright dishonest. It's like going to a hotel advertising their rooms for "only" £3 and you find out that it's £3/hour AND you have to rent the room for 24-hours at a time.

Secondly, UK2 WILL charge you dearly for all other services. The fact that they have not advertised their charges for things like dealing with complaints means that they can spring these on you and you will be legally obliged to pay. You've agreed to a 3-year contract, after all and you've agreed to all the terms and conditions.

It may also be (I haven't checked this yet) that they will require an up-front payment covering the full 3 years, rather than a monthly payment. You'll only find this out AFTER you've entered your credit card details and allowed to view the cost calculation page. Which means that you will be locked in and liable for all the charges they can think up. And, believe me, they are very creative. They can terminate the agreement at any time, if they SUSPECT any improper use. There is no appeal. (And why are they concerned about what you do with your server? It's no business of theirs and highly suspicious of their motives.)

They will refund you the balance outstanding on your account, of course. minus the set-up fee. Notice, however, that elsewhere in the agreement is the implication that they will also deduct whatever costs (including admin) they may occur.

It's a con, so keep well clear of the company. It's sounds like a good deal but it is definitely too good to be true.